Call for Suggested Reading

Now that I’m going to be publishing a book under the aegis of my lucky stars, I’ve started reading other self-published/small press authors. This is my own attempt to not only support other artists in my field, but also to get a feeling for the field itself.

To continue in this little project, I need your help. If you yourself are self-published, or know someone who is, leave me the details of the book in the comments. If the book fits with what I feel like reading, and the price is right, I’ll pick it up. If I have something interesting to say about it, I might just say it here – with a link to the author. I like hearing what other people have to say about my fiction, so it is nice to return that favor to others.

So far I’ve picked up the following (this is not yet a recommendation list, just an information one):

The Shining Cities: An Anthology of Pagan Science Fiction

Under the Amoral Bridge: A Cyberpunk Novel

Poor Man’s Fight

I also have laying around a few small press anthologies that I occasionally return to:

Space Tramps: Full Throttle Space Tales #5

Finding Home: Building Community in Apocalyptic Worlds

Yes, my short story is the closer for Finding Home (all the more reason for me to read all the other stories in the anthology!). My story is called “Jar Cleaning Day” and is completely unassociated with THE QUEEN OF HUNGER. That short centers on Sylvia Crenshaw, a hard-working survivor faced with a novel solution to her entirely not-novel problem. It is a different setting with different characters, but I’m sure sharp readers will make connections – real or imagined.

So you’ve got your assignment: self-pubbed/small press book details in the comments. Give me a list!

About L.E.H. Light

I've been a writer and science fiction fan since my grade school librarian handed me The Dark is Rising back in the early 1980's. A love of history and storytelling drives me to keep reading and writing the stories I wish I'd read as a child. I started submitting short stories to anthologies a few years ago -- leading to my first publication in Finding Home: Community in Apocalyptic Worlds. QUEEN OF HUNGER is my first full length published novel. I'm hard at work on the second in the series, tentatively titled QUEEN OF CROSSROADS. I do all this editing, writing, and random acts of fandom in the small free time I have when I'm not chasing my toddler and husband around the San Francisco Bay Area.

Posted on March 19, 2013, in Announcements, Book Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Check out Picking Up the Ghost– By Tone Milazzo. His press is small and I thoroughly enjoyed his mix of magic, ancestors and characters.

Leave a Reply

